Big Tim’s Meatballs & Sauce Recipe

Hello Journey Fans,

I grew up like many of you eating oodles and oodles of noodles in the form of Spaghetti & Meatballs.  Well living a Paleo lifestyle makes pasta noodles a thing of the past.  No more Gluten or Wheat, no more carb crashes or bloating after eating way too much pasta over the years.  Ultimately it comes down to the real good parts.  The Sauce and the MEATballs!!  So here is my soon to be famous with all of you trying it and loving it as much as I do Sauce from scratch, and Meatballs.

Sauce (makes 5-6 quarts)

1 Medium White Onion
3 Heaping Tbsp Minced Garlic
1/2 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
24 Organic Roma Tomatoes
3 6oz cans Organic Tomato Paste
4 Tbsp Sea Salt
3 Tbsp Black Pepper
4 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
3 Tbsp Basil
3 Tbsp Oregano
2 Tbsp Granulated Garlic
1/2 cup Red Wine (I used Merlot) Cab will work too.
2 Tbsp Pure Cane Brown Sugar (optional)

In a large stock pot, add 1/4 cup of the olive oil and turn on heat.  Chop up onion very fine using food processor or your mad chef skills like they do on TV if you are so inclined 🙂 Food processor is faster! Throw the chopped onion, and the garlic into the pot and it should sizzle in the oil.  Sweat the onion and garlic for 2-3 minutes stirring till onion and garlic browned.  Turn off heat.

Cut off the stem end of the Roma tomatoes and toss all into food processor and process to your desired consistency.  I like a puree thinner sauce so no big tomato chunks for me.  Add tomato puree to the pot.  Next add the 3 cans of organic tomato paste to pot.  Add all seasonings, red wine & remaining 1/4 cup of EVOO to the pot.  Stir until the paste is mixed and you have a thicker sauce now.  Turn heat back on, and bring to slow boil.  As soon as you see first boil bubbles, turn heat down to low, stir and cover, and let simmer slowly for 60 minutes, checking and stirring every 20 min.

After 60 minutes, start your taste testing.  Add whatever you think it may need.  This is the time where I added the optional Brown sugar.  I always remember my grandmother adding lots of sugar to her sauce and it was always very sweet, but oh so good when I was a kid, so just adding 2 Tbsp is not much, but I can definitely tell it’s there since my sweet taste buds know how amazingly little sweetness is needed.  If you don’t want to use any sugar don’t, this is my touch to remind me of my grandmother’s great sauce 🙂 Most likely not much, but maybe some salt will need to be added, and it never hurts to add more garlic either haha!! Keep on low and let all the flavors meld, it can be cooked up to 6 hours.

 

Meatballs (Yields 40+ 1.3 oz meatballs)
I got 47 in this batch 

4 lbs Grass Fed Ground Beef
4 Eggs
Sea Salt
Black Pepper
Granulated Garlic
Onion Powder
Italian Seasoning

In a large bowl, take the meat, each one was a 1 lb package so combine all meat together into a big ball in the bowl.  Flatten the meat into a giant hamburger patty, think big 4 lb burger! Flatten it to about 1/2 inch thick.  I have no measurements for the seasoning as I seasoned the meat just like I would a burger.  Sprinkle the Salt over the whole burger patty, then pepper, garlic, onion powder and italian seasoning.  Flip the burger patty over, and season same way on other clean side 🙂

Take your 4 eggs and beat them like you were gonna make scrambled eggs, just combine yolks and whites together.  Pour the eggs onto the meat patty in the bowl.  Get your hands in there, and mix the egg in well until all the meat is combined and the seasonings are all mixed through with the egg and meat.  It should be a little wet, but mostly not.  Now to test the mixture, take a small piece of the meat mixture, toss it in a pan flatten it and cook it for a minute on each side and taste it.  Adjust your seasoning to desired taste with your big meat mixture at this point.  Tasted awesome to me, so no extra seasoning was needed.

Now depending on how big you want your meatballs, these were small/medium sized.  To get an idea how big, take your hand and make an “OK” sign.  Pull enough meat to make a ball that size 🙂 I got 47 meatballs out of the 4 lbs of meat used.  Averages about 1.3 oz per meatball if you weighed them.  Now line 2 baking pans with foil, and drop the meatballs in the pans.  Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees, and bake the meatballs for 20-25 minutes.  These were done at 22 minutes.  You can also fry them up in a pan with some coconut oil or avocado oil, however for less mess, baking them is ideal 🙂

 

Finished Dish

I put 10 meatballs in a bowl, and topped with plenty of sauce, and crushed up all the meatballs and ate it like a chunky meaty italian tomato soup.  I added more sauce because it was that good, and was extremely satisfied and had no bloating or heavy feeling after being done because as we all know that doesn’t happen to us anymore not eating grains!!

The flavors of the meat and sauce together work well all by themselves, but if you wish you can top this over spaghetti squash, or any other vegetable you wish, and the sauce can be used for just about any tomato dish you like.  I have several jars left over which should keep in the refrigerator for a month or so.  It won’t last that long 🙂

Thank you for viewing, and I hope you give this a try with all of your favorite meats like beef, bison, elk, boar, venison etc.  Meatballs are quick and easy snacks if you have them leftover!

Have a great day!

Tim

17 Comments

Filed under Blog

17 responses to “Big Tim’s Meatballs & Sauce Recipe

  1. Pingback: Big Tim's Meatballs & Sauce Recipe « Big Tim's Primal Journey | ClubEvoo

  2. Nicole Caroen

    This looks YUMMY!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Can’t wait to make this tonight! We have a large family, so many thanks for a “Big” recipe that is cost effective too. I think we will use this recipe often :0)

  3. What a great time to find this as I’m planning next week’s meals today! A side of spaghetti squash and everyone in the family will be happy.

  4. Larry Collier

    Hey, Tim! If I leave out the brown sugar would this sauce receipe be diabetic friendly?

    Thanks!

    • Larry,

      I would consider it diabetic friendly even with it. Tomatoes have a glycemic index of 38, considered low on the scale. Brown and white sugar have a GI of 64. Considering I made almost 6 quarts of sauce, 2 tbsp is quite low in it’s usage, and again (optional) is the sugar. I remember my grandmother using at least a cup of sugar in her sauce.

      Even with it, it has less sugar than any jarred commercial sauce. I can actually use sugar as it’s intended use…just another spice! Sugar is also used to balance out the acidity of the tomatoes, but it is not needed. Make it however you like. 🙂

  5. Kim Riffle

    Gonna make it leaving out the sugar. Whole 30 compliant then and I am on day 3 of my 1st whole 30 journey! Thanks! Congrats on your progress too!

  6. Kim Riffle

    I just reread the recipe to write my list of ingredients, will be leaving out the wine too! But still sounds YUMMY! Thanks again

  7. Ooo, these look divine! Bookmarking now! 🙂

  8. Kim B

    The meatballs came out pretty dry. I used fresh onion, which is supposed to add moisture…

    • Sorry to hear that Kim. What type of meat did you use? I use an 85/15 lean/fat ratio and always make sure you use at least 1 egg per lb of meat. Hope that helps.

      You can also, if you have lots of time you can make the sauce and drop the raw meatballs in the sauce and let the sauce cook them for about 5-6 hours.

      Good luck. 🙂
      Tim

  9. This looks so yummy! I’ll be making this this weekend, I think! Have you ever thought about adding the “pin it” option to your recipes/blog? I think it would be awesome if you did, and may also generate more traffic over to your page! 🙂 Just an idea. Thanks for all the scrum-didly-umptious recipes!

    • Thanks Rebecca, I haven’t figured out all the features of the blog yet. I do post my recipes on Pintrest but it’s been a few weeks since I signed on..I’ll work on that 🙂 Thanks and Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

